Skip to main content
Version: 9.x (Current)

Manage Users

Mia-Platform Console allows users to manage other users accesses throughout their company. Letting them full ownership of deciding who has access to what resources and with what role.

note

To find out more about available Roles check out this documentation page.

In particular a user can be assigned a Role on the following resources:

  • Company
  • Project
  • Runtime Environment

Only users with enough privileges will be granted the access to the users administration portal and will be able to change user roles.

Important: Git provider vs Console permissions

The management of user roles and permissions aims at regulating accesses on resources solely at Console level.
Roles and permissions of users on the same resources at the Git provider level are not managed in this Console area; thus, roles at Git-level must be verified in order to prevent possible discrepancies that may appear between permissions the user has at the Console-level and those the user has at the Git repository level.

For example, it could happen that a user who does not even have permissions to access a Company from the Console, is however in a Git group with an assigned role that gives it Git-level permissions on these Company resources!

Therefore, by giving permissions on resources to users, it is strongly suggested a double check on both Console-level permissions and Git-level ones.

Manage Company users

A user with enough administrative permission on a specific Company will be able to view the existing users in the company, add new user to it and change the existing users role.

Company admin portal

caution

Please note that some permissions defined by the Company role may be inherited on the Projects and Runtime Environment owned by the Company itself.
Always pay attention when assigning roles to users in order to prevent providing undesired access to resources!

Adding a new user

The Company Owner can add a new user by pressing the Add user button, the user invite process will require for an email and the desired role to be assigned the new user.

The provided email will be searched throughout existing users and if a match is found the user will be invited to the Company with the defined Role.

info

If the user does not exist in the Platform, please open a Service Request for it to be created.

Editing a user role

A user role in the Company can be modified, to do so just open the editing dialog and select the proper role.

Remove a user from the company

A user role can be removed from the Company, to do so click the delete icon on the table and confirm the action.

danger

Removing a user from the company will kick the user out of every Project and Runtime Environment, while the user may be invited back in the company, all their previously existing roles will be lost and cannot be recovered and must be reassigned from scratch.

Manage Project and Environment users

A user with enough administrative permission on a specific Project will be able to view all the existing users in the Company and assign them the desired role on the specific Project (and, optionally on each existing Runtime Environment).

Project admin portal

note

As stated above each user existing in the Company will be shown for the Project users administration portal, this does not mean that all the user has access to the project since this depends on the role they are assigned on the Company and how the permission are inherited.

For further information about permissions and role inheritance check out this documentation page.

Editing a user role at project level

A user role in the Project or any of the Project Runtime Environment can be modified, to do so just open the editing dialog and select the proper role for the Project itself or for each Runtime Environment.